Fellowship SVBJ

Selection criteria

  1. Qualified Orthopaedic Surgeon, FRACS or equivalent
  2. If overseas graduate from non-English speaking background, must attain pass in ILETS exam
  3. Strong references for further training from previous supervisors

How to proceed after selection for Fellowship

Application process

Our fellows are placed by AIMS-Australian Institute of Musculo-Skeletal Research. if you have an interest in a fellowship with us you can contact them on admin@aimsresearch.com.au

Fellow to provide:
Name/address/email/contact phone numbers and registration details.

  1. Go to Australian Medical Council (AMC) website. (www.amc.org.au) Go to Assessment and examination tab and download Primary Source Verification Specialist in training form. To complete this form, you will need to obtain a EICS Number-there is a process guide for your EICS verification. You will also find a tab for English proficiency testing this is the first thing you should complete (as this can take some time).
  2. Next go to Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) (www.ahpra.gov.au). The 3 documents that you need to complete are:-
    1. AAMC-03 form (Application for Assessment by a medical College) We will send you this document with our details already completed. Fill in your requirements then send to Royal College of Surgeons once you have completed forms and included all relevant documentation.
    2. ALPS-30 form (Application for limited registration for postgraduate training or supervised practice) We will also send you this document with our details already completed. Fill in your requirements then send to Royal College of Surgeons once you have completed forms and included all relevant documentation.
    3. Supervised Practice Plan and Principle Supervisor’s Agreement (Supervised practice for limited registration. Once you have approval from RACS and you have a completed AAMC-03 form we will send you this form to complete you section and then send to APHRA for your application. This site is also useful for help with medical indemnity insurance which you will require for accreditation to St Vincent’s Private Hospital. Previous Fellows have used AVANT and there is a link.
  3. Next go to Royal Australian College of Surgeons (RACS)We will send you all these documents with our sections completed.
    • Short-Term Specified Training documentation checklist. On this list, there are 9 document requirements. Please complete 1. AAMC-03 after you have filled in your requirements. 3. Training program and 5 Position Description are enclosed. All other requirements you must complete and provide.
    • RACS Application Form
      Department of Immigration and Citizenship (www.immi.gov.au). We need to complete a nomination form 1402N. This needs to be submitted before or at the same time as your application. For us to complete this application I will need your contact and passport details and details of family members if they are coming with you.
    • Download or apply online for Application for a temporary residence visa (non- business) Forms for subclass 402 visa.
      • To complete this form in part A the subclass visa is Occupational Training 402 and Your sponsor name is Michael Neil J Neil Pty Ltd Application ID Number 500554693
  • It would be advisable that you get plenty of passport photos and numerous certified copies of documentation requirements.
  • We would also advise you use the CV template on the AHPRA site as your guideline.
  • For your visa requirements, you will also require Health Insurance. We suggest you go onto the Medibank Private website.

Current Fellow

2023-2024 - Dr. Raza Askari MBBS FCPS (Orthopaedic Surgery ) CHPE.
AO Trauma Fellow (Germany)
Fellow Ponsetti International Pakistan.

Previous Fellows

  • 2022 - Dr Arif Ali, MBBS FCPS (Orthopaedic + Trauma), Pakistan
  • 2021- Dr Lauro Gonzales, MD. Philippines
  • 2020-nil covid
  • 2019 - Dr Davide Salvo, Switzerland
  • 2018 - Abhijit Kawalker, India
  • 2017 - Abhijit Kawalker, India
  • 2016 - Dr Donnell Rubio, Philippines
  • 2015 - Dr KarlouMutia, Philippines
  • 2014 - Dr Paulo Panti, Philippines
  • 2013 - Dr Amir Kalanie, New Zealand
  • 2012 - Dr Jeremy Atupan, Malaysia
  • 2011 - Dr Edward King, Philippines
  • 2010 - Dr Amir Rubin, Israel
  • 2009 - Dr IrewinTabu, Philippines
  • 2009 - Dr Turlough O'Donnell, Ireland
  • 2008 - Dr Phillip Sloper, England
  • 2008 - Dr NiloPaner, Philippines
  • 2007 - Dr Alastair Trezies, United Kingdom
  • 2006 - Dr AzharMerican, United Kingdom
  • 2006 - Dr Viral Shah, India
  • 2005 - Dr Baran Datta, India
  • 2004 - Dr Nick Vertzyas, Australia
  • 2003 - Dr Christophe Pattyn, Belgium
  • 2003 - Dr Simon Tan, Australia